Compact Licensure


Nurse Compact Licensure 
The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows a nurse to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in the home state and other compact states. Currently 33 states have enacted NLC legislation.

The Nursing Licensure Compact removes complications for nurses practicing in multiple states. Nurses from NLC states are able to work across state lines without having to worry about applying for licensure in each state or being burdened by multiple renewal requirements and fees. With more nurses practicing across state lines, state boards of nursing are coordinating now more than ever before — helping to expand the mobility of nurses as part of the nation’s wider healthcare system.

For the most up to date and state (board) specific information visit: here


Current NLC States & Status


Nursing License Compact 

The Nurse Licensure Compact is a modern licensure solution for the 21st century. As leaders in public protection, State Boards of Nursing developed and adopted the Nurse Licensure Compact in 2015. 

The NLC increases access to care while maintaining public protection at the state level. Under the NLC, nurses can practice in other NLC states, without having to obtain additional licenses.

APRN Compact States & Status

                                                                                                               Advanced Practice Compact Licensure 

The APRN Compact, approved May 4, 2015, allows an advanced practice registered nurse to hold one multistate license with a privilege to practice in other compact states. The APRN Compact will be implemented when 10 states have enacted the legislation.

NCSBN has developed a model for states to enact the Advanced Practice Nurse Compact. Model legislation and rules click here.

For the most up to date and state (board) specific information click here


Current eNLC States

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas 
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana 
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • Nebraska
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

States with Pending eNLC Legislation

States without Legislation for the eNLC
  • Alaska
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island (part of original NLC)
  • US Virgin Islands