Forum

Pre-Nursing  

RSS

JoeThaGOAT
(@joethagoat)
20/06/2019 7:13 pm  

Im a college freshman thinking about declaring nursing as my major. The coursework seems pretty straight forward but the programs were explained to me to be super competitive?!? Any advice on what I can do to make myself a competitive applicant? I want to actually get in at my school and not have to transfer somewhere else. 

NurseKayla
(@nursekayla)
20/06/2019 7:27 pm  

As a current nurse the best advice I can give is for you to finding out what your school nursing program requires specifically. There is no way to become competitive among your classmates  unless you know what it takes. Here a  few more tips

Even if you just have to get in the program that your at...apply to other schools. Trust me, you dont wana be that one playing the waiting game for a semester or more. 

Also focus really hard on doing your best in the core science and math classes, THE FIRST TIME! Nursing prorgrams really look at this heavy.

Hope this helps Joe 

ReplyQuote
JoeThaGOAT
(@joethagoat)
20/06/2019 7:30 pm  

Thanks Kayla! Going to give it all I got 

ReplyQuote
NurseNy
(@nurseny)
29/06/2019 1:00 am  

Reflecting on my nursing school journey, 

I recommend that you visit your nursing school’s website or drop into their admissions office and get an approved list of the prerequisites needed to apply for the program, & the minimum GPA requirement. 

Personally, I felt like the science prereq. requirements were the most competitive/challenging. Definitely find a learning/study routine that allows you to understand the content and perform well on exams (For me this was taking notes before class, listening more than I wrote during class, and watching helpful youtube videos when working to learn the content). Know that these courses may be very trying. Allow this to build your determination and perseverance. Having these qualities in your tool box will be helpful in your nursing school journey.